Six of Crows

Six-of-Crows

This book.  THIS BOOK!  It was FANTASTIC.  This is the first of Leigh Bardugo’s books that I’ve read, despite the fact that her Grisha Trilogy has been on my “to read” pile for a really long time.  I loved this book so much that as soon as I finished Six of Crows I immediately picked up Shadow and Bone (the first book in the trilogy) and started reading it, because I was just not ready to leave the incredible fantasy world Leigh had created.

grisha-trilogy-covers

The world in which Six of Crows is set pulls just enough from our conceptions of different parts of our own world to give us a basis on which to build our understanding of the settings and characters, all while being an entirely new and magical place. The characters certainly seem to have skills and abilities that make them seem more adult (I kept feeling as though the characters were older, and then being surprised when their teenage ages were mentioned).  However, this didn’t bother me when I reflected on it – in the world that these characters are living it, it is either “grow up fast and gain the skills to survive” or perish.  And these characters are definitely survivors!

One of the reasons I loved this book so much is that I have just really been on a fantasy kick recently, so this book hit the spot.  But it also combines much of what I love – excitement, adventure, a touch of romance – all while being well-written and beautifully crafted.  I’m a sucker for heist stories, and this has become one of my favorites.  But I’m also very character-driven when I’m reading, and the action and plot did not at all take away from the characters – they are all fleshed out and interesting, and we gradually learn their backstories which helps us to both understand their motivations and really care about them.

There is only one problem I have with this book – its sequel doesn’t come out for another 7-ish months, and I want to read it RIGHT NOW!!!  🙂

Leigh Bardugo
Photo of Leigh Bardugo from her website.
One thought on “Six of Crows

  1. Heidi Hammond

    I agree that the characters often seemed older than teens. And, as you pointed out, each was a well-developed character with a back story gradually revealed. I liked that the author respected her audience enough to credit them with the ability to read on without knowing completely about each character. I’m sure there is more to learn about all of them in the sequel. I plan to read that, too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

